Tartar sauce is a sauce usually served with seafood dishes, and often used as a condiment for specialty fast foods. As a composition, tartar sauce traditionally is a mayonnaise-based sauce filled with egg, oil with tangy pickles, lemon and sometimes capers to create a sauce very different than just mayo.
Based on this, tartar sauce can, very easily, be turned into its vegan counterpart. Simply replace the mayo with a vegan version, either store-bought, or homemade made out of cashews, and then just throw the same ingredients in there! Vegan food does not have to be as tough as we make it out to be.
- 1 cup vegan mayo (store-bought or made from cashews)
- 1½ tbsp sweet pickle relish
- 1 tbsp minced onion
- 2 tbsp lemon juice
- Salt and pepper to taste
- In a small bowl mix together vegannasie, relish and onion. Stir in lemon juice and season to taste with salt and pepper. Refrigerate to allow the flavours to mix.
Watch how to make vegan tartar sauce here!!